Partners

The Joint Migration and Development Initiative (JMDI) is funded by the European Commission and the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation and implemented by the UNDP Brussels office in collaboration with IOM, ITC-ILO, UNHCR, UNFPA, UNITAR and UN Women. The JMDI also often collaborate with other entities working on M&D issues as outlined below.

Donors
  European Commission, Development and Cooperation – EuropeAid, Section Migration and Asylum, Unit D3.
Contact: Ms. Barbara Rossi
 

Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation, Migration and Development.
Contact: Mr. Thomas Ruegg thomas.ruegg@sdc.net

Partner Agencies
                                                                        UNDP Brussels Office. Contact: Ms. Irene Garcia, Programme Specialist irene.gracia@undp.org UNDP, Bureau for Development Policy, New York. Contact: Ms. Sarah Rosengaertner, Migration & Development Expert  sarah.rosengaertner@undp.org
UNDP Articulation Articulating Territorial and Thematic Networks for Human Development (ART  Programme)
 

IOM Contact: Ms. Anna Platonova, Project Manager aplatonova@iom.int (Brussels Office); Mr. Olivier Ferrari, Research Officer oferrari@iom.int (Geneva Office); Mr. Federico Soda fsoda@iom.int (Geneva Office)

  ITC-ILO  Contact: Ms. Miriam Boudraa, Programme Officer - Labour Migration Social Protection Programme m.boudraa@itcilo.org; Mr. Alessandro Patrone, Evaluation Unit A.Patrone@itcilo.org
  UNHCR Contact: Ms. Annabelle Roig, Senior External Relations Officer roig@unhcr.org (Brussels Office)
  UN WOMEN Contact: Ms. Laurence Gillois, Programme & Resource Mobilization Specialist  laurence.gillois@unwomen.org (Brussels Office)
 

UNFPA Contact Mr. Ivan, Hermans Senior Policy and External Relations hermans@unfpa.org (Brusssels Office)

     UNITAR, especially the Human Mobility Programme and Learning Platfor
Project Partners

The JMDI is implemented in partnership with local authorities, civil society organizations and other local actors (for example chambers of commerce, private sector, universities) in order to ensure that the initiatives funded through the JMDI are far-reaching in terms of impact, population outreach and sustainability.  To view the projects funded through the JMDI and the beneficiary organizations, please access the project database here.

Other institutions / organizations collaborating with the JMDI
     
 

World Bank, Global Knowledge Partnership on Migration and Development (KNOMAD)

  Global Migration Group, UN inter-agency group bringing together heads of agencies
  International Catholic Migration Commission, especially in relation to the Global Forum on Migration and Development (Civil Society Coordination / Days); as well as the Civil Society Platform set up in the framework of the II High-level Dialogue on International Migration and Development
  United Cities and Local GovernmentsWorking Group on Migration and Co-Development´s (MCD)
 

Intercultural Cities, Council of Europe

  EUROCITIES  (Network of major European Cities)

The JMDI also collaborates with a wide range of local authorities’ networks and diaspora organizations which can be viewed in the M4D Community section here.